The Taste of the Wine

Wine geeks break the world into two different parts:
The Old World and the New World

For complicated reasons, these wine taste very different from each other, but they show characteristics of either fruit or earth.
Old-world countries include France, Italy, Germany, Spain and Portugal. Australia, South Africa, New Zealand, and the United States are considered the New World.

We set up a simple rule to describe taste: Old world wines have predominantly earthy flavors such as mushroom, cigar, mineral, stone, tar, clove, herb. New-world wines have mostly fruity flavors such berry, cherry, apple, mango & orange.

You might ask, is this a full proof method? definitely not; however, in our years in business, I have seen the lightbulb turn on for countless people. It helps the consumer manage select amount a large wine selection, and it sets the stage for more advance and specific training of your palate.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s